‘Pop-Up’ shop at Red Lion Quarter, Spalding

Having visited the new contemporary Red Lion Quarter building on several occasions, lusting after the fantastic light filled atrium space, I was overjoyed when they agreed to let me move in for a few days.    It being so close to Christmas, I decided a glam fairy grotto was required to pull in the punters.  The towering balcony railings were just crying out to have the 200mtr knit2gether Olympic track hung from them.  The Red Lion building had unfortunately become a victim of the economic downturn and with costs not being met they had to find alternative tenants….until then I was able to use one of their retail spaces to exhibit my work and that of emerging artists and crafts people.   All was going really well until the business rates men in suits decided to pop-in to my pop-up.

The three days was lovely, Maria and Ollie, interim managers of the building, were lovely too, it could have been so good.  I packed my things aways, took down the grotto and looked on the positive side…I had engaged with lots of people who all loved the idea, I had given out lots of business cards and I had tried to make a difference.   I left the track hanging, Maria and Ollie wanted it to stay for a while x

Leave a Reply

